How Many Books Are In The Catholic Bible?

How Many Books Are In The Catholic Bible?

For Catholic Christians, the Bible is a sacred book. It is published in accordance with Catholic canon law. It contains 73 books in all, including 46 Old Testament writings and 27 New Testament books, as well as deuterocanonical literature. Deuterocanonical books are the books of the Old Testament that are derived from the Greek Septuagint collection. It does not have a collection of Hebrews Masoretic text. The Vulgate is a collection of Vulgate translations from Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek. It contains several stories, writings, and situations that are referred to as God’s words. It contains a variety of books, including wisdom books, prophetic books, historical books, revelation, and so on. All of these sections have numerous stories to guide their followers, many of which are tied to Christ, as well as texts containing direct words from God.

In the English language, there are numerous other translations. The English translations of the Catholic Bible include the Douay-Rheims Bible, Knox Bible, and Jerusalem Bible. Despite this, the Council of Trent regards the Vulgate as the canonical Bible translation. Many different copies of the bible were created over time, such as the protestant bible, which had minor alterations from its initial form but was otherwise unchanged. Catholic canon law governs the publication of the Catholic Bible. These seven books are known by both names Deuterocanonical and apocryphal. Deuterocanonical means “second canon,” while apocryphal means “hidden.” While Deuterocanonical is more “accurate,” both terms have been used since the beginning of the church age. Several early church fathers (and Catholic saints) labeled them “apocryphal,” and the article will teach you everything you need to know about the catholic bible.

The Original Catholic Canon

St. Athanasius, who lived in the year 367 AD, compiled a list of 73 books he thought to be divinely inspired for the Bible. Pope Damasus I accepted this list in 382 AD, and the Church Council of Rome formally confirmed it the following year. List of 73 books was reaffirmed by later councils at Hippo (393 AD) and Carthage (397 AD). A letter from Pope Innocent I to the Bishop of Toulouse in 405 AD confirmed the canon of 73 books. During the Council of Carthage, held in 419 AD, Pope Boniface reaffirmed this list and agreed with it. It was at Trent in 1546 when St. Athanasius’ original list of 73 books was confirmed by the Council of Trent.

Resolution of Objections to the Deuterocanonical Books

There are a number of issues with these seven books in the catholic bible. Some argue that the fact that the New Testament never mentions these contested texts proves they are not canonical. That is not correct, because the non-controversial books of Ecclesiastes and Ezra are not mentioned in the New Testament at all. Ecclesiastes and Ezra are not canonical either, by this criterion. In the New Testament, however, there are numerous references to the deuterocanonical texts.

Anyone who reads Hebrews 11:35 will see an obvious allusion to 2 Maccabees 7, where the evil King slaughtered the mother and her seven boys for not abandoning the Jewish Torah. Wisdom 13 also refers to Romans 1:19-25, which deals with nature worship. The conclusion, of course, is that in John 10:22, Jesus Himself observed Hanukah, or the Dedication of the Temple. This is contained in Chapter 4 of the Old Testament book of First Maccabees, which is found in the Catholic Bible but not in the Protestant Bible.

Several individuals that criticized these seven books, claiming that some early church fathers, such as St. Jerome, did not believe they were divinely inspired. While it’s wonderful that so many non-Catholics are beginning to reference the early Church Fathers, it’s not fair to quote them on this but not on the Eucharist, the papacy, or Rome’s sovereignty, all of which demonstrate that the Catholic Church was the only Church in existence at the time. Although St. Jerome had reservations about these texts at first, claiming that Palestinian Jews did not consider them canonical, he was not infallible and eventually concluded that they were scriptural. These contested writings were considered as divinely inspired by all of the early Church Fathers. It’s also worth noting that the book of Tobit and the book of Sirach were discovered alongside the book of Isaiah and other Old Testament texts in the red sea, indicating that the people of the time past considered them worthy of study.

What is the Total Number of Books in the Catholic Bible?

As previously stated, the Catholic Bible consists of 73 books, as opposed to the Protestant Bible, which consists of 66 titles. The following is a list of seven works that Catholics consider essential and those Protestants do not.

  1. Tobit
  2. Judith
  3. Wisdom (also called the Wisdom of Solomon)
  4. Sirach (also called Ecclesiasticus)
  5. Baruch
  6. 1 Maccabees
  7. 2 Maccabees

Also in Esther and Daniel, the Catholic Bible contains additional passages. It’s crucial to keep in mind that the content of the Catholic and Protestant New Testaments is exactly the same! They both have 27 books in them.

Why Do Catholics Read These Seven Books?

There were two primary “canons” in the Old Testament at the time of Christ, according to Catholic sources. For starters, there existed a “Palestinecanon,” which is essentially the same as the Old Testament used by Protestants today. The Septuagint, known as the “Alexandrian Canon,” was the second. Catholics believe that Jesus and his apostles consulted the Septuagint, also known as the Alexandrian Canon, when composing the New Testament. An ancient Greek translation of the Hebrew Scriptures, known as the Septuagint (or Hebrew Scriptures), is known as the Hebrew Scriptures (our Old Testament).

Catholics think that the additional seven books discussed in this article are included in the Septuagint. By way of the ancient Greek Old Testament, which is also known as the Septuagint, the Catholic Church received these extra Scriptures. Those who were Hellenist or Greek-speaking Jews used the Septuagint Bible, which was based in Alexandria. The Septuagint is considered by Catholics to be Christ’s Bible. “If it was acceptable to Christ, it is acceptable to us.”


The Bibles of the Catholic Church and the Protestant Church are distinct in many ways, but there are some common themes that run through both the “catholic” and the “protestant,” bible. The most important of these is the belief that there is only one true God, who created the entire universe and plays an active, ongoing, and loving role in its maintenance.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.